Manifolds

November 11, 2009

Scale numbers

Filed under: health — origamifreak @ 8:03 am
Tags: , ,

My scale estimates other things based on my weight and % body fat.

Here is what the numbers were on July 27, 2007:

  • fat: 50.2% (which makes sense, because I need to drop about half my mass)
  • water: 37.2% (I’m supposed to have a number between 45% and 60% – which means I’m dehydrated – no kidding; it’s the hottest, muggiest day of the year, so far, and I’m dripping sweat all over the place)
  • visceral fat: 17 (which would be under 13 if I were healthy)
  • muscle mass: 150.4 (This is supposed to equal the weight of muscle in my body.  I am sceptical.  Perhaps this has to do with my dehydration.)
  • physique rating 3 “Solidly-built: Large Frame Obese – high body fat % and high muscle mass”
  • bone mass: 8 (It’s supposed to be around 6.5 lbs.  Again, I suspect dehydration.)
  • caloric intake to maintain: 3772 (According to my BMI it would be 2685 if I were sedentary; not sure about this one.)
  • metabolic age: 50 (9 years older than I actually am.  Not as bad as I thought it might be.  Again, I suspect the estimates could be off.)

Here’s what they are today:

  • fat: 36.2%
  • water: 45.3%
  • visceral fat: 7
  • muscle mass: 105.6
  • physique rating: 2 obese (medium frame obese- high body fat % with mod muscle mass level)
  • caloric intake to maintain: 2774
  • metabolic age: 50 (It’s the maximum the scale can do, so given that I’m overweight by BMI and by % body fat I’m still not yet under that.)

I guess after removing 160 lbs I was kind of hoping that my physique rating would be better than that, but they don’t have a category for “overweight,”  so I guess “obese” is the closest thing.  I was also hoping for a lower metabolic age, but it is what it is.

For my own future reference, here are all the physique ratings:

  1. hidden obese (small frame obese- high body fate % with low muscle mass level)
  2. obese (medium frame obese- high body fat % with mod muscle mass level)
  3. solidly built (large frame obese- high body fat % and high muscle mass)
  4. under exercised (low muscle and average body fat %- average body fat% and less than average muscle mass level)
  5. standard (average muscle and average body fat%- average levels of both body fat and muscle mass)
  6. standard muscular (high muscle and average body fat%- athlete- average body fat% and higher than normal muscle mass level)
  7. thin (low muscle and low fat- mower than normal body fat % and muscle mass level)
  8. thin and muscular (thin , muscular athlete- lower than normal body fat % while having adequate muscle mass)
  9. very muscular (muscular athlete- lower than normal body fat% while having above average muscle mass)
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

