Manifolds

August 3, 2009

Call Trace (*57) to get legal record of phone harassment

Filed under: technology — origamifreak @ 12:20 pm
Tags:

Well.  On the advice of the police on Friday, I called Verizon and asked what my options were for tracing the harassing calls I’ve received from my ex-contractor’s wife.

I’m blogging about the answer, because if I’d known about it, I could have used it on Friday to trace the most recent call.  So now I’m sharing.

Apparently in NY State, here’s the procedure:

  1. Receive the harassing call.  As long as either you or your answering machine picks it up, then this should work.
  2. Hang up and immediately dial *57 This will cause a record to be made of the call. Write down the date and time of the call.
  3. Contact your local law enforcement agency and report the harassment.  For getting the Trace sent to them you’ll need the following information:
    • Officer’s name
    • case complaint #
    • agency telephone #
    • agency fax #
  4. Call your phone company’s “unlawful call” center. For Verizon the number is 800-518-5507. They’re open from 8:30a-5p M-F. Have them fax a report to your law enforcement agency.

Apparently this should work 100% for land lines, and works about 50% of the time with cell phones.  I wish I’d known about it on Friday. 👿

More information, here.

For the record, since June 27 I have received 5 calls/hangups from this woman (3 on the cell and 2 on the land line).  She has actually spoken twice, once on the land line and once on the cell.  I suspect I was receiving them in April, as well, but at the time they were just mystery hangups.  My friend with the roof issues was also receiving them in June and July. I have filled her in on this procedure in case she starts getting them again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

