Manifolds

April 30, 2009

Getting ME back

Filed under: health,sports,technology,travel — origamifreak @ 12:24 pm
Tags: ,

Lisa and I had a long chat last night (unfortunately into the very wee hours of her UK morning), and during this conversation she mentioned that she was curious what I look like now, having lost 64 lbs.  The last time she saw me was last summer, I think, or maybe it was the summer before that, when she came to NY and I took a bus down and spent the day with her.  I was pretty much at my max BMI at that point, over 52.

So I took a couple of quick digital photos and emailed them, and her reaction was really funny.  “Hey!  It looks like YOU!  Your face has actual STRUCTURE in it, again!  Gee, you look almost the way I remember you did when we were in school together.  How come you haven’t aged?!”  Then she saw the full body shot, and was similarly surprised.  “Wow, there’s an actual SHAPE to you, now!”

Since I’ve been watching this transformation for the past 5 months (I’ve lost 19% of the starting weight), it doesn’t seem quite so dramatic to me, although I am relieved that I finally recognize the face in the mirror, again.  She finally looks like me.  It is a strange thing to live in a body and behind a face that looks like a stranger in the mirror, but I’ve been doing it for the past 6-7 years, at least.

We concluded the conversation with me purchasing a flight to visit her and Steve in September.  I’ve been really aching the past couple of days, and almost nothing raises my spirits as having a trip to look forward to.  So now I have one.  Both Steve and Lisa are really keen on cycling, and by then I should have a spinning-hardened butt, so I suggested that we rent a bike for me so the three of us can ride while I’m there.  She liked that idea, a lot.  I used to ride a lot too, at one point.  Back in college I used to ride with the varsity team on their “easy” days and go on 100-mile century rides with my brother.  A typical afternoon ride for me in those days was 20 miles.  Maybe once my butt is hardened I’ll even upgrade to a heart rate monitor that works with a cyclometer.  It’s something to think about, anyway.

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to continuing this journey of getting ME back.  My friends in NY and farther away and family have rallied around me amazingly since my cry for help on Tuesday, and I’m fortunate to have them (you know who you are!).  I think I might just be able to get by, with a little help from my friends.  🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Hey, that was a really sweet post! Thank you – and you’re welcome, anytime! Being able to ‘be there’ for you makes me feel less far away… if you can parse that! I’ve missed you (and YOU!) and it will be fantastic to see you again. Riding together should be great fun – I only hope you don’t leave me in the dust (coz that would be maximally embarassing! ) 😉

    xx

    Comment by Cooking Fool — May 11, 2009 @ 4:52 pm | Reply

    • Honey, I would never leave you in the dust! If necessary I would just ride circles around you. 😉

      (just kidding – since I know you and Steve have Plans to ride a LOT this summer before I even get there!)

      Comment by origamifreak — May 11, 2009 @ 10:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

