Manifolds

April 22, 2009

Resistance is Futile?

Filed under: health,sports,technology — origamifreak @ 12:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve only had this Bowflex for about 2 months and have been using it regularly for 1 month.  It’s already got 2 upgrades that allow it to go up to 410 lbs of resistance.  No Bowflex machines go higher than that.

And I think we’re already running into a problem – the workout buddy (WB) can do 200 lb flys on each side.  And on Monday we established that I can do 180 (well, 5 reps of them, anyway).  This means that WB has almost maxed out the machine on this exercise and I’m not far behind, since it only goes up to 205 lbs of resistance on each side.

So WB has suggested bringing in his bench and dumbbells, of which he has a set of 15s and 50s.  I just got a set of 10s.  What I wonder, though, is if we’re going to need to start upgrading to bars and plates?  Yikes.  I think it’s time to start watching Craig’s List and EBay for people selling weight equipment…

For other exercises that use smaller muscle groups (such as tricep pushdowns), the Bowflex is still great.  I just think we’re going to need to supplement it…

On another front, I am planning to drop the T-Th water aerobics in favor of spinning at the local college, for several reasons:

  1. It’s free because of my affiliation
  2. It’s less driving because it’s not far from where I work
  3. It’ll be a good cardio workout
  4. I’ve outgrown the T-Th classes; the workout intensity isn’t high enough to get my heart moving, anymore (they were great for the level I was at in October 07 when I was diagnosed with the arthritis)
  5. Being in chlorine 4x/week makes my skin itch
  6. I’ll get home sooner since I won’t have to shower and the classes end 15 minutes sooner than water aerobics ones.
  7. It’s getting warmer and eventually I’ll be able to swim in the lake again (especially if I investigate the possibility of an exposure suit or a shorty wetsuit).
  8. I’ll continue with the high-intensity M-W water aerobics classes.

Problem: the T-Th instructor is a friend and I will miss the camraderie of the other people in that group.  It is a very social class, which was really nice.  That might have been part of the problem, though, since there was a tendency to chit-chat instead of push ourselves.

3 Comments »

  1. Update. WB is going to pick up a weight set from Fairport tomorrow morning: http://rochester.craigslist.org/spo/1119167831.html
    So here we go – to the Big Time… I guess.

    And the spinning? Good Lord, I thought I was going to die. The instructor is a machine. She’s also the woman who manages all the grants, etc. for the Station…
    If I keep going 2x/week all summer, I just might be able to keep up with them by the autumn. 😯

    Oh – and the friend understood – as friends tend to do; she said that was how it was supposed to work; that you start slow and then move into more challenging things as you improve. I’m still invited to their parties, which is good. 🙂

    Comment by origamifreak — April 23, 2009 @ 8:34 pm | Reply

  2. Wow! I love your workout room! If I lived closer, I’d be over there often! Cool. I wore my HRM today. Interesting. I’m due a B12 injection in 3 weeks and I’ve been incredibly tired. I thought it might be the anemia. I avoid going up and down the stairs and I’ve been walking to work instead of enjoying the feeling of the wind in my dreads. I argued with my doctor that I needed injections every 8 weeks (instead of the usual 12) because I used to get them that often. She insisted that the blood work didn’t bear that out. I’m not surprised – last period, I was feeling super strong at the 3 month mark – but had the injection anyway, of course – this time I’m crawlin’ after just 9 weeks… Anyway, wearing the HRM I was surprised to learn that my ‘sitting’ HR (lying down on the couch….) was 86-90 BPM). I didn’t feel very well, either. I was cold – so cold a jhuge bowl of hot noodles (fresh ramen noodles!) didn’t warm me up. I finally decided I needed to get under the duvet. And so I did. And I fell asleep for 4 hours! WTF is going on??? Anyway, I’m up now and we’re doing the dinner thing. Lean roast beef, roast potatoes and salad….

    Comment by Cooking Fool — April 25, 2009 @ 3:38 pm | Reply

    • Thanx. At the moment I’m still so sore I haven’t been in there myself, since yesterday. It feels like everything hurts (my back, my abs, my shoulders, my arms, my legs, etc.)

      I’m about ready to go for a walk anyway, to be followed (I hope) with 30 min on the elliptical. My usual walking buddy, Irene across the street, has a cold so I’ll be going by myself.

      Wow, that is a really high resting HR, especially given your usual fitness level. Mine is around 45-47 bpm. If it’s not anemia, maybe you’re coming down with something?

      Keep me posted. And look me up on the polarpersonaltrainer.com site once you have an account!

      OK, putting my shoes on, now…

      Comment by origamifreak — April 25, 2009 @ 5:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

