Manifolds

April 13, 2009

New Toy

Filed under: health,technology — origamifreak @ 9:36 pm
Tags: , ,

Since I sometimes use the ski machine which does not have a heart rate monitor, I splurged and got myself one from Amazon.

It’s got this handy feature that you can upload the data by sound from the wrist unit to your computer and from there to the vendor’s website and keep it available for tracking.

Here are the results from tonight’s session on the Elliptical, as summarized on the training website:
polar_output
Pretty nifty, eh? I had chosen the “moderate” zone and was below it for about 4 minutes while warming up, and above it for about 4 minutes in the middle of the workout.  (That’s how my Max HR ended up above the “Upper HR Limit.”)  I had to turn off the beeping because it annoys me, so when I’m out of the selected zone the wrist unit just flashes at me.

For the record, the elliptical’s heart rate monitor must be pretty accurate, because it usually reads within +/- 1 bpm of what the chest strap does.  The elliptical itself is taking quite a pounding, unfortunately, and I’m not sure how long it is going to last.  This is particularly unfortunate, since I tried every machine in both Sears and Dick’s before settling on this one as most comfortable for my knee.

There’s supposedly some way to also download customized graphics and settings for the wrist unit, but I’ll save that for another day.

On the BMI front, yesterday I was 0.6 pounds away from having lost 60 total.  I’ve got almost 18% of my original body weight off.

Update: as of 4/14 I’m 0.4 pounds away from having lost 60 total.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

