Manifolds

March 21, 2009

Macronutrient Ratios

Filed under: food,health — origamifreak @ 9:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

According to the strength training article at Wikipedia, I should probably be getting between 90 and 225 grams of protein per day.  I am having trouble getting that much.  Generally I manage around 60-80 grams.

The strength training book I got from Amazon recommends a macronutrient ratio of

  • 30% calories from protein
  • 30% calories from fat
  • 40% calories from carbs

SparkPeople wants

  • 15% calories from protein (real range 10%-35%)
  • 30% calories from fat (real range 20%-35%)
  • 55% calories from carbs (real range 45%-65%)

I’m usually somewhere around 30% protein, 20% fat, and 50% carbs.  Which I guess is somewhere in the middle.  It’s hard to adjust and arrange foods to get a particular ratio.  Generally, as long as the protein is between 25% and 30% I’m happy.  I need to increase the grams, though.

Here’s what 3/22 looked like, after a sashimi dinner:

macronutrients

I’m also still not eating as many calories as SparkPeople says I need (1,910 – 2,260).  Today was the first time I felt any kind of fatigue, or anything like that.  I just couldn’t keep up with the tempo of the music (around 64 bpm).  Today SparkPeople also complained because I’ve done more cardio for the week than they anticipated, and so had to enter “3629” under “calories burned” so that they could increase the calories they want me to eat.  This is ridiculous.  (Wednesday and Thursday I did some Nordic Track and weight training after getting home from water aerobics.)

Anyway, I’m excited for the whey to come that I ordered, so it will help me get in more protein.  The Nasoya Lite Firm Tofu helps, too.  Both seem to be convenient ways to get protein without getting a lot of fat and/or sodium with it.

I also ordered fish oil capsules for the omega-3 fatty acids that I know I’m not getting.

P.S.  Raw fish seems to work as a lean source of protein, too.  🙂  It’s unfortunate I can’t afford a sashimi diet.

Calories Carbs Fat Protein
Edamame, frozen, prepared, 1.5 Cup 285 0 12 26
sashimi, yellowtail, 3 oz 124 0 4 20
tuna, bluefin sashimi, 6 oz 244 0 8 40
sashimi, snapper, 3 oz 85 0 1 17
salmon, atlantic, sashimi, 3 oz 121 0 5 17
2 Comments »

  1. Does that organic dairy near you make cheese? If so, they might be willing to part with the whey…

    And tofu? Uck. Soy protein jello. But you will know how to flavor it up into something tasty.

    Comment by jpm14 — March 22, 2009 @ 6:03 pm | Reply

    • The organic dairy near me has unfortunately been virtually shut down by the state, so I doubt they’ll be selling anything to me. http://meadowsweetfarm.com They were great. The state just doesn’t want anyone selling unpasteurized dairy.

      I actually like tofu. Raw. In cubes on salad. (But then, I’m from CA, so you can expect me to have “weird” tastes.)

      Comment by origamifreak — March 22, 2009 @ 6:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

