Manifolds

February 23, 2009

New BMI = 45.98

Filed under: food,health,technology — origamifreak @ 7:57 am

Still pushing it down.

My recent history all-time low BMI when I started this in May 2007 (BMI = 52.56) was 45.42 in October 2007, so I’m getting close to breaking new ground.  When that happens I’ll go back to posting according to my milestones:

  • increments of 10 lbs lost total
  • 5% increments of lbs lost total
  • BMI category
  • 5% removed net since the last net 5% removed (this last one is key, because it’s the only milestone that is spaced according to relative difficulty at each stage)

I’m actually equivalent to the last milestone reached in October 07.  The next milestone is a 5% net, and will happen when I hit BMI = 45.07

Between October 07 and when the reflux hit me in December 08 I’d gone back up to BMI = 51.09.

Used the new elliptical machine Saturday (152 BPM on the cardio program) and Sunday (160 BPM on the interval program).

It also helps when you don’t feel much like eating…

2 Comments »

  1. And why do you not feel like eating?

    Article in the WSJ today says new report shows old-fashioned counting calories and increasing physical activity is the best way to gain control of weight. The authors of several fad diets disagreed. Of course.

    Jay and Isabelle are going tice weekly to a work-out room at the high school…

    Comment by jpm14 — February 26, 2009 @ 9:26 am | Reply

    • Being upset about things sometimes makes it hard to want to eat. Remember when I was transitioning out of the job in Ithaca, and I physically couldn’t eat alone, and sometimes I had to come over and sit with you guys during dinner? It wasn’t that bad this weekend, but it was along those lines.

      Counting calories only works short-term (for a few months) for me. That probably works just fine for the average person who only has five or ten pounds to lose. This is not optimal for a situation such as mine, where I need to keep this up for years. Obsessively counting every calorie that goes into my mouth and planning every future calorie gets OLD. And it feeds the deprivation mentality, which in turn, on a bad day, can cause me to sabotage the whole thing. (You can count on bad days happening, just like death and taxes, because that’s how life is.)

      I am finding it much simpler, mentally peaceful, and sustainable to focus instead on the feeling of the pre-gastric ulcer when I overfill, or the trots I get. Both are unpleasant direct consequences of eating too much and eating the wrong things (like rich foods, for example). I don’t like either feeling, ergo I will avoid them.

      Fortunately I usually enjoy exercise, so that’s not such a problem. The main thing there is to build it in as an automatic habit, such that my car automatically drives to the Chiropractic College for water aerobics after work, for example.

      Comment by origamifreak — February 26, 2009 @ 9:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

