Manifolds

February 3, 2009

New Dining Room Light

OK, so my current dining room fixture is this ugly brass-looking candelabra thing which I have detested since I got here:

img_0961

The only good thing about it is that it is a convenient place to store my cat wine charms. Somehow the orange Sunny-looking one has disappeared. Probably caught on someone’s hair at some point and walked away. So I guess it wasn’t that good at even keeping those safe.

So now that the ceiling is going to be redone, I can get a new fixture. One I want.

My cousin Cracker has a really neat red counterbalanced lamp over her kitchen table that is wall-mounted. I reasoned there must be something like that available in a ceiling mount, and after several hours of hunting online, I figured out it’s called a “rise and fall pendant lamp.”

FRENCH HOUSE CERAMIC LAMP

Rise and Fall Lamp

You can get them in many different colors, if you’re willing to pay in British Pounds. You can buy a white one from a US website for over $350 before tax and shipping.

COBB RISE AND FALL PENDANT LAMP

COBB RISE AND FALL PENDANT LAMP

However, Pottery Barn has them on back-order for under $200, I want the one with the 18-inch white shade, and I’m willing to wait.

It has all the things I want: it has a socket for 100W bulb (I’ll put a fluorescent 150 in there), and a white finish on the large tulip-shaped shade so it won’t be too jarring with the other hardware in the house (such as the ceiling fan/light in the foyer and the hallway flushmounts – “Bob” has lectured me on making sure the all hardware looks harmonious).

Porter Pendant

Porter Pendant

I guess I’m not the only one who finds these interesting, because there was a blog post about them at dominomag.com in October. Here’s a December post from the same blog, showing a large ceramic one the same as I’m getting:

18" Ceramic Porter Pendant

18" Ceramic Porter Pendant

3 Comments »

  1. Love it!
    Is there some sort of cover over the bulb?
    That is my one beef with a lot of lamps and why I like the one in our dining room so much. I really dislike looking up into a bright bulb.

    Comment by jpm14 — February 7, 2009 @ 3:42 pm | Reply

  2. There is no cover over the bulb. But if necessary the lamp can be lowered to the point that it’s eye level and no one is looking up into it.

    Or you can buy a bulb that has a coating on the end…

    Comment by origamifreak — February 7, 2009 @ 5:23 pm | Reply

  3. Wow! That’s a beautiful lamp! I hope that Steve and Lisa consider getting one for us!

    Comment by Sofia T. Catt — February 10, 2009 @ 3:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

