Manifolds

August 2, 2008

Fleas.

Filed under: cats — origamifreak @ 9:56 am
Tags: , , ,

Ugh. My cats are indoor cats. They don’t go outside except on leashes, and I haven’t had much time to take them out this summer. I did take them to the vet, however. Where I think we got fleas. Either there, or I carried them home on me when I went with my H2O aerobics instructor so she could choose a couple from Dawn’s new batch of kittens.

Regardless of how they got here, they are here. As much as I try to stay away from herbicides, pesticides, etc. etc., when it comes to living with two jumpy, itching felines and millions of jumpy insects whose bites make me itch, I draw the line.

Better living through chemistry, in this case. Bring on the hormonal growth regulators and neutotoxins!

When I finally figured out what was going on (we haven’t had fleas since M & L and I lived in CT, which is about 15 years ago), I ordered some Advantage from Amazon, on 2-day shipping.

I also set the thermostat at 75 F, to slow down the development and dry out the air in the house. (Fleas like heat and humidity, which probably explains why we suddenly have them, given the kind of summer it’s been.)

Then I went to Walmart and picked up a flea collar for M’s immediate relief (he has longish fur and is 16.5, so they were really bothering him, compared with S). I made sure to get the kind that has hormones that prevent insects from maturing, so it would be useful later.

Then I started the Great Purge of 2008, where everything they sit on or sleep on was either washed in Very Hot Water, or vacuumed within an inch of its life, if it didn’t fit in the washer. To aid this process I used a spray that really stinks. I’m not a big fan of permethrin, so if I could have found a spray that just has s-methoprone, I would have gotten it.

When the Advantage finally came on Thursday, I put it on them and put the flea collar in a new vacuum bag so that it will help prevent vacuumed eggs from developing. It was like a miracle. They stopped itching within half an hour, and slept like little furry logs the entire night through. I guess they were exhausted from all the itching.

Now we’re continuing to purge the Flea Hatchery, and they itch now and then, but I’m crossing my fingers that the situation is under control…

2 Comments »

  1. Awww! I really feel for you guys! Fleas are awful, let me tell you! Once I had fleas so bad, all I could do was sleep, scratch, bleed (daintily, mind you!) and eat. My people noticed that I was sleeping a lot but it wasn’t until Tomas started scratching that they started trying to deal with the beasties. They tried a lot of different things – things that had worked in the past like collars, sprays and something called ‘Spot On’ that they applied to our fur in a place we couldn’t reach at all – the backs of our necks. This time, though, the magic Spot On didn’t work at all. We started looking more and more unhappy. They finally took us BOTH to the vet. The vet put us on a 6 monthly injection program call, appropriately, ‘Programme injectable flea protection”. We now get our shots – whether we have fleas or not. Life has be SOOOOO G O O D !!! The luck Robbie has never even HAD a flea (he gets injected regularly, too…) Thank you, thank you – for reminding Lisa that we have ALL received our Reminder Postcards from the Vet and it IS TIME for our injection. The three of us will be Yowling in a taxicab, Vet-ward, next weekend!!!

    *paw*

    Comment by Sofia Catt — August 3, 2008 @ 4:15 pm | Reply

  2. Ugh is right. Hope the Purge is Proceeding Profitably. Patience.

    Comment by jpm14 — August 4, 2008 @ 8:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

