Manifolds

May 19, 2008

More Free Rice

Filed under: language — origamifreak @ 8:00 pm
Tags: ,

Back in February Deb alerted us to the Free Rice website.

At that time I managed to get to 50:

VOCAB LEVEL: 50
YOUR BEST LEVEL: 50

You have now donated
4360 grains of rice.

Then in April another blog I read mentioned it.

Yesterday I attended a taping of Says You, which featured some intriguing words: vada, fick, stipe, among others. I knew stipe outright, figured fick was Anglo-Saxon (which helped me guess the meaning), and guessed wrong about vada. Interestingly, vada is not in the OED (SY said it meant “moistness”), and the only fick listed is a proper noun, and not remotely the same definition (SY claimed it meant “a lock of hair.”). So now I am beginning to wonder just where they do get these words?

It made me want to go back and look at Free Rice again. Today I managed a new record:

VOCAB LEVEL: 51
YOUR BEST LEVEL: 51

You have now donated
2940 grains of rice.

I stopped on parcener for a while.

Then I decided to keep going to see if I could get to 52:

VOCAB LEVEL: 52
YOUR BEST LEVEL: 52

You have now donated
7180 grains of rice.

Next I got crepuscule which I knew, guessed right on pogey, and guessed wrong on the next one that I’ve already forgotten.

I think that’s enough for now. My head hurts! 😉

This site has some interesting comments about the words there.

1 Comment »

  1. Update:

    VOCAB LEVEL: 53
    YOUR BEST LEVEL: 53

    You have now donated
    940 grains of rice.

    The problem is that now I have learned some of the words that come up, so I think it’s no longer a good test of my general vocabulary. From here on in it’s just a memorization game, and any higher scores I get will reflect learning, not pre-test knowledge.

    Continuing:

    VOCAB LEVEL: 54
    YOUR BEST LEVEL: 54

    You have now donated
    1080 grains of rice.

    Q.E.D.

    Comment by origamifreak — May 19, 2008 @ 8:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

