Manifolds

April 25, 2008

Hurty GERDy

Filed under: health — origamifreak @ 8:06 pm
Tags:

Ugh. Wednesday night I ate too close to bedtime and woke up with reflux.

I’ve had this problem ever since my mid-20’s when I used to chain-eat ibuprofen for my cramps. In those days ibuprofen was uncoated, and I’d take it even without fluids, let alone milk. Eventually the ibuprofen burned a hole into the lining of my esophagus, and aspirin was suddenly off-limits, as well.

It used to happen only when I took aspirin or ibuprofen, and the doctors prescribed Carafate, which stopped the pain very well. As the decades advanced, I started having problems if I ate too much, or if I ate oily food, or certain spices, or sometimes, even just popcorn. About 5 years ago a friend turned me on to Pepcid AC, which also stops the pain well, and doesn’t require a prescription.

So yesterday morning I had it because I’d eaten and then gone to bed. Last night I did not make this mistake, but unfortunately woke up with it this morning anyway, and even worse. The first two Pepcid AC taken at 6:30am did not help. I took numerous hot showers to distract me from the pain.

At 8am I took one more pill, and by 8:45am the pain finally started to subside. I was exhausted from the pain and did not go to work – I was afraid it might come back, and I need to be well enough to travel Saturday-Tuesday. So I stayed home and laid low all day.

I think it’s time to consult the doctor about this – according to the internet, I might have H. pylori, and GERD can lead to nastier things like cancer.

1 Comment »

  1. Uff. Wish you were not part of this club.
    Woke up praying for you this morning (Sat) that your travels and etc. go well.

    Comment by Deborah — April 26, 2008 @ 11:47 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

