Manifolds

April 12, 2008

Moving Images

Filed under: technology — origamifreak @ 5:51 pm
Tags: ,

Here’s how I moved all my files (almost 10MB) from Upsaid to here, and fixed the links to them in my archived posts.

I went to my file directory on Upsaid (http://www.upsaid.com/files/origamifreak/) and downloaded all of them to my computer.

Then I pretended I was writing a post here, and clicked the little icon next to “Add media.” Then I selected all the files to upload and told it to go. Then I went and made some soup, unloaded the clean dishes from the dishwasher, reloaded it with dirty dishes, and came back and waited for the last few files to upload, all the while fending off bored cats.

Next I will do a find/replace in the Upsaid archive files, and change all instances of “http://www.upsaid.com/files/origamifreak/” to “https://origamifreak.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/”.

Also, you have to pay attention to case in filenames. The files uploaded will have lowercase letters in their names. For example, “IMG_1554_smaller.JPG” becomes “img_1554_smaller.jpg”, so I need to do a find/replace for “IMG” and “JPG.”

Then all I have to do is upload the Upsaid archives to this site (create a page and paste the archive html into it), and I should be Done. In order to get the archives to show up in chronological order, it helps to use the “page order” tag at the bottom.

Unfortunately some themes do not allow the pages to be viewed at optimal width, so you have to try a few out. I recommend the ones with a flexible width.

In one of my last Upsaid posts I embedded some Google Video. This code did not transfer. So I just used hyperlinks to take the reader to the appropriate video at Google, and also used the native WordPress method for embedding the material.

There is one final problem that I can’t solve unless I download my archives post-by-post; links to previous blog entries still point to Upsaid, and it would be a pain in the @ss to create all the internal links necessary to make them work over here. We’ll just have to live with the search function or domain search by Google.

2 Comments »

  1. Where do I get the RSS feed?

    And why do I need to put in my email address?

    Comment by Terminus Est — April 12, 2008 @ 9:26 pm | Reply

  2. 1. https://origamifreak.wordpress.com/feed
    2. It’s their way of controlling spam in comments; apparently you need to put in your email the first time, and never again after that. Let me know if it’s a problem…

    Comment by origamifreak — April 12, 2008 @ 10:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

